So where did BOSTES go?


A new education authority, commenced in January 2017, will focus on supporting quality teaching and learning to improve results for every student in every NSW classroom.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) will build upon the work of the Board of Studies, Teaching and Education Standards (BOSTES).

NESA will take over responsibility for setting the state’s K-12 curriculum; accreditation of teachers, registration of schools and home schooling; delivering the internationally regarded Higher School Certificate (HSC); and approving tertiary teaching degrees, including minimum entry standards and a pre-graduate literacy and numeracy test.

Minister for Education Adrian Piccoli said NESA will have an increased focus on developing evidence-based policy to improve student achievement and driving quality teaching.

“NESA’s renewed focus on streamlining processes and cutting red tape for schools will ensure increasing efforts are redirected to support quality teaching and learning in our classrooms,” Mr Piccoli said.

Mr Piccoli announced the appointment of David de Carvalho as Chief Executive Officer of NESA and the members of the inaugural NESA board. The Board has been cut from 23 to 14 members and will be chaired by Tom Alegounarias, the current President of BOSTES.

“Mr. de Carvalho brings extensive experience in leading major reforms at both national and state levels and a deep personal passion for and understanding of education. I am pleased he will be supported by an outstanding board which will take a more strategic role leading education reform in NSW,” Mr. Piccoli said.

Starting his career as a secondary teacher, Mr. de Carvalho has been on several education and research boards. He has also led the National Catholic Education Commission, was Head of the Higher Education Division in the Federal Education Department and is currently a Deputy Secretary at the NSW Department of Family and Community Services.

“I am looking forward enormously to the challenges and opportunities of this new role, because nothing is more important for a child’s life chances than the knowledge and skills a quality education can deliver,” Mr. de Carvalho said.

NSW Education Standards Authority board members

  • Mr. Tom Alegounarias, Current President, Board of Studies, Teaching and Education Standards (BOSTES)
  • Professor Paul Chandler, Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Wollongong
  • Dr. Brian Croke, Executive Director, Catholic Education Commission NSW
  • Mr. David de Carvalho, Chief Executive Officer, NSW Education Standards Authority
  • Professor Susan Dockett, Professor of Early Childhood Education, Charles Sturt University
  • Mr. Denis Fitzgerald, Vice President, NSW Teachers Federation
  • Ms. Katherine Grace, General Counsel, Company Secretary, Stockland Group
  • Ms. Robyn McKerihan PSM, Former Executive Director, NSW Department of Education
  • Ms. Iris Nastasi, Principal, Clancy College
  • Dr. Geoff Newcombe, Chief Executive, Association of Independent Schools of NSW
  • Mr. Mark Northam, Assistant Secretary, Independent Education Union
  • Mr. Craig Petersen, College Principal, Denison College of Secondary Education
  • Mr. Mark Scott AO, Secretary, NSW Department of Education
  • Ms. Carol Taylor, Former Chief Executive, BOSTES